Introductions using a song title

Imagine if you had to introduce yourself or your business only using a song title, no speaking, no introductions, no self promotion, nothing….. just a song title

What a brilliant challenge.

Last week we looked at the 30 second elevator speech where the challenge was to introduce your self or your business concisely and succinctly in only a few sentences. Imagine if you were set a challenge to introduce yourself or your business via a song title, what song would you choose?

I found this a very difficult challenge, mainly because I can never remember the title of any song and I drive shop assistants mad as I try to sing them my version of the song that I would like to purchase.

So, I spent a couple of days looking at song titles that I thought would best represent my business – Public Speaking – and finally came up with “More than words” by Extreme.

So why did I choose this song title? I believe that public speaking is more than the words you use in your presentation. It’s about the way you present yourself, the body language you use and the vocal variety that you incorporate into your presentation, it’s about confidence, knowing your audience and knowing your topic.

The reason I started down this path of thinking about a song title that introduced either my business or myself was an interesting blog post that I read, see below.

What song would you choose to introduce your business or who you are?

http://www.chiefstoryteller.com/chief_storytellers_blog/2008/06/describe-your-c.html

Keep speaking – Carrol

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

